As this will be my last official post, I wanted to thank everyone who joined in the conversation. This blog was created to take a crucial look at how the green movement has affected the public relations world, positively and negatively.I wrote about issues that intrigued me and sparked my interest. Hey, I am a blogger now, which makes me arrogant and selfish – deal with it.

In all seriousness, my only goal for this blog was that my passion for both public relations and going green showed through in my writing.

I thoroughly enjoyed blogging and learning more about green tactics. I will go into the professional world, employed as of May 12 by Liggett Stashower (YAY), knowing the difference between strategic green initiatives and greenwashing.

The most important lesson I learned from writing this blog is that going green is not for everyone or every company. If you want to jump on the green bandwagon, the tactics must fit with your goals and objectives, whether it’s from a business or personal standpoint.

Any green initiative that is a far cry from the pillars an entity stands on is not going to strengthen that foundation.Too many people are going green because it is the “trendy” thing to do.

So a sound word of advice from a brand new PR professional: Don’t forget about strategy, green or not green. Success comes from building on what compliments you or your company.

If the shoe doesn’t fit, don’t try to squeeze your size 12, black, loafer-wearing foot into a size six, green stiletto. People will instantly realize it’s not a good fit.

